The leadership of Democratic Peoples Party (DPP), in Ika South Local Government of Delta State has honoured six distinguished personalities during an investiture on 10th December, 2011, at Pace Hotel, Agbor.

Speaking on the occasion, the L.G.A Chairman, Comrade. Sylvester Iweluegim, told members that there was need to honour some distinguished individuals who have contributed immensely to the upliftment of the party. Com Iweluegim reiterated that it is only fair they honour these personalities The chairman said the party is working in line with its constitution which stipulates that these men and women of virtue should be honoured. The awardees were, chief (Dr.) Precious C. Emelue, Chief Peter Eboh, Mr. Stephen N `Ikpade, Mr. Christopher Emefiele, Mrs. Harriet Amokwu and Mrs. Amaka Oto-Ighofose.

While commenting on the governorship election litigation, the chairman enjoined members to always keep hope alive, saying that the victory they seek will come in due course. He said he is was optimistic that God would answer them speedily if they persist in prayer. Com Iweluegim however, maintained that the investiture had become a platform to spur and reawaken the faith of their relentless supporters, having institutionalized the culture of transparency, accountability and service in the local government. He therefore, appreciated Ika South DPP members, leaders, aspirants and supporters for their financial contributions to the party at the local government and state levels.

Dignitaries who graced the occasion were, Chief Julius Ogboru, Prince Innocent Obaseki, Chief Onyekpeze, Com Onyeka Onyibe, Mr. Victor Akpenyi, Prince Beatrice Obika, Mr. Raph Obi Okoh and the representatives of the Obi of Abavo led by Chief Agbejie, the Ero of Abavo kingdom.

High point of the ceremony was the citation on the awardees’ and the presentation of plaque to them.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.