Caretaker committee members in Ika South and Ika Northeast local government areas respectively, were on Thursday 15th November, 2015 sworn-in by the chairmen of the respective councils. The swearing-in ceremonies which took place at the councils secretariats in Owa-oyibu for Ika Northeast members and Agbor, for Ika South members, were witnessed by large crowd of people including Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP) supporters, family members, friends and well wishers.


Meanwhile, the chairman of Ika Northeast council, Princess Ijenwa Okwunonke, a trained journalist, described her appointment as an opportunity to serve. She promised to carry everybody along in the scheme of things and also key into the three point agenda of the state government. While calling on the newly sworn-in committee members to join hands with her in moving the council forward she thanked the executive governor of Delta State, His Excellency Dr.  Emmanuel Uduaghan for giving them the opportunity to serve.


In the same vein, Engr. Andrew Obiazi, chairman Ika South council, in an address he presented during the swearing in ceremony of the caretaker committee members in the local government said that the appointment is a call for responsibility, and also a challenge which must be shoulder with care, love and affection for the general good of the people. He urged members of the committee to take  their job seriously and with high level of honesty and accountability.


Speaking further, Engr. Obiazi said that all hands must be on deck, as governance is a collective responsibility. He however called on all stakeholders  in the local government to put away sentiments and join in making Ika South a better place for everyone to live in.


“In our desire for a stable and peaceful Delta State, we will key into the development agenda of our principal, His Excellency Dr. Emmanuel Eweta Uduaghan, the Executive Governor of Delta in the area of peace and security, infrastructural development”, Engr. Obiazi ‘assured’.

 Names of members that were sworn-in on Thursday 14th November, 2012 from Ika South are: Victor Okoh, vice-chairman, Dr. Emmanuel Tibi, secretary, Vincent Agboregbulem, member, Smart Dibie, member Friday Onyeator, member, Patience Onyesom, member, Isioma Nwagbogwu, member, Maureen Olijie, member, Francis Owuzoh, member, John Emenim, member, Ehianuta Christopher Ehianuta, member, Benjamin Osemeiha, member and Boi Azuka Glory, member Emmanuel Egede, Joy Siweku, Nkechi Egbo, and John Ndidi were not sworn-in because of the problem of duplication of names in their wards. But the chairman, Engr. Obiazi told newsmen that they will be sworn-in as soon as the issue is settled. 


Meanwhile names of committee members sworn-in from Ika Northeast by the chairman, Princess Okwunonke are: Joe Emedem, vice-chairman, Mrs. Rita Balogun, secretary, Emmanuel Isioma Okubor, member, Nwokem Celestine, member, Obianke Stephen, member, Nwachukwu Egwu, member, Rev. Samuel Ogugua, member, Nwanne Eric Ekene, member Emeke Aghaolor, member Etiedam Olisekwu, Adaigbe, Joseph, Samuel Egbule, member Egwunanimkwu James, Aghedo Jognson, Jennifer Nwaokesi member and Iyemukem Bright, member. 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.