Speaking to Ika Weekly in
his office recently, the Public Relation Officer of the College in Agbor, Mr.
Augustine Isimite said that the approval was as a result of a verification
exercise which was conducted by the NUC in most of the institutions of higher
learning in the country, and that, from a national newpaper published recently
the NUC, in 2007, conducted a statutory comprehensive Programme Audit Exercise
in Nigerian Universities where it was discovered that some universities were
offering undergraduate programmes in unapproved affiliated institutions.
Consequently, the exercise was carried out by the commission, after which
considerations were given to some colleges of education in Nigeria and were duly approved to
run degree programme in affiliation with other universities.


It was revealed that both
the Colleges of Education in Agbor and Warri are to run their undergraduate
programmes in affiliation with Delta
State University,
DELSU, Abraka. It was further stated that the host universities are to handle
the admissions, matriculation and other related matters of the affiliated
schools in order to ensure proper admission procedures which may also include
the admission quota for each of the universities.


The undergraduate degree
programmes that have so far been approved for the College of Education Agbor,
includes Nursery and Primary Education, Education/English Language, French
Education, Music Education, History Education, Chemistry Education, Biology
Education, Physics Education and Social Studies Education. Others are Geography
Education, Political Science Education, Economics Education, Integrated Science
Education, Agricultural Education, Business Education and Mathematics
Education. 16 undergraduate programmes were also approved for the College of Education, Warri.


All the approved Colleges
of Education and Higher Institutions of learning have been told by the NUC, to
make adequate preparations for the smooth take off of these programmes in their
respective schools, as occasional visits will be made by the commission?s
accreditation team to verify the level of operations in terms of facilities and
academic performances of the students in the schools.


Other Colleges of Education
that got approval from NUC to run undergraduate programmes also include, Shehu
Shagari College of Education, Sokoto; Kwara State College of Education,
Kontagora; Federal College of Education, Katsina; Federal College of Education
(Technical), Postikum, Enugu State College of Education, (Technical), Enugu,
Saint Augustine College of Education, Akoka, Lagos; Claretian Institute of
Philosophy, Nekede and Seat of  Wisdom
Seminary, Owerri. Others are Pope John Paul Major Seminary, Okpuno, Akwa;
Catholic Institute of West Africa, Port Harcourt;
Archbishop Vining College of Theology, Akure, and Bigard Memorial Seminary, Enugu.    

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.