FALL OUT OF NWAGBOGU’S INTERVIEW WITH IKA WEEKLY As He is Stripped of Majority Leader Position

The Ika South local government council legislative arm on Tuesday, March 1, 2011 placed an indefinite suspension on the former Majority Leader of the House, Hon. Marvin Onyeka Nwagbogu, who is having a running battle with the council chairman, Hon. Hilary Ibude, whom he accused of fraudulently managing the council�s funds.

The House in a unanimously adopting the motion for the suspension of the former number three man in the legislative arm, which was move by Hon. Fidelis Igumbor and seconded by Hon. Ifeanyi Aghaulor, frowned at the publication in Ika Weekly, where Hon. Nwagbogu alleged that the change of leadership in the House did not follow due process and was influenced by the chairman. In moving the motion, Hon. Igumbor argued that positions in the House are not the staturity reserved for any member, adding also that the former majority leader was being economical with the truth in the press interview he granted Ika Weekly.

The House has also adopted the motion stopping the salaries and entitlements of Hon. Nwagbogwu and other affected councilors. The motion for the action was moved by Hon. Fidelis Igumbor.

Hon. Igumbor also moved the motion for the immediate filling of all existing vacant positions, which include that of the majority leader and deputy majority leader. The motion which was seconded by Hon. Isioma Isedeh was unanimously endorsed by the House, state that election was conducted.

Those who emerged after the vote were Hon. Ifeanyi Aghaulor, Majority leader, Hon. Grace Nkemachor, deputy Majority Leader, Hon. Abiamuwe Onyebigwa, Chief Whip and Hon. Florence Akpabor, deputy Chief Whip. They were immediately sworn in by the leader of the House, Hon. Sunny Onotor, who charged them to be dedicated in the discharge of the official duties.

The new majority leader, Hon. Ifeanyi Aghaulor who spoke on behalf of the newly inaugurated principal officers, thanked the House for finding them worthy to serve in the various capacities and promised to discharge their duties within the confine of the law and to the best of the abilities.

The adhoc committee was later set up to investigate the activities of the sacked principal officers during their time in office. The adhoc committee is headed by Hon. Isioma Isedeh who is to be assisted by Hon. Ignatus Agboile with Hon. Abianine Onyebigwa and Hon. Grace Nkemachor as members.

The House, through its leader, Hon. Sunny Onotor reiterated its earlier call on the suspended members which include the former leader, Hon. Alexender Azeru, deputy leader, Hon. Kenneth Isibor and Hon. Keneth Omoragbon to return all council property in their possession. The affected councilors were given another 24 hours to return council property with them.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.